Biographie

Der kanadische Bariton David Diston hat sich aufgrund seiner rasanten künstlerischen Entwicklung schnell den Ruf als "sonorer Bariton" (Huffington Post) mit "vollem Klang und ausdrucksstarkem Gesang" verdient. David stammt aus Niagara Falls in Kanada. Er ist Absolvent des Calgary Opera Studio in Calgary, Alberta. Er hat einen Master of Music in Opera Performance von der University of Toronto und einen Honours Bachelor of Music in Vocal Performance von der Western University. Zu den wichtigsten Rollen von David in Nordamerika zählen unter anderem Ping (Turandot), Frederic (Lakmé), Pish-Tush (The Mikado), Count Almaviva (Le nozze di Figaro) und Dr. Malatesta (Don Pasquale). Distons jüngste Auftritte von Schaunard (La Bohème) mit der Highlands Opera und der Mississauga Symphony haben ihm großes Lob eingebracht: „David Diston war ein stimmlich beeindruckender Schaunard, dessen geschickte Schauspielkunst - in einem Moment tragisch und im nächsten zum Schreien komisch - von zentraler Bedeutung war für die realistischen Mansardenszenen“ (Opera Canada).

Der Ruf von David Diston als intelligenter Musiker und begnadeter Interpret hat es ihm auch erlaubt, Rollen in neuen Opernproduktionen zu kreieren. Dazu gehört Dr. Mann in der Weltpremiere von Vehar’s SHOT! mit der Nickel City Opera in Buffalo New York und Young Rattenbury bei der Pacific Opera Victoria in Stokes‘ Rattenbury. Diston hat auch Werke uraufgeführt, darunter Kositskys neues Oratorium A Mighty Cry und mehrere Stücke, die von der University of Toronto entwickelt wurden, zuletzt Lover's Dusk von Matthias McIntire. David Diston hatte ebenfalls die Ehre, mehrere kanadische Premieren zu präsentieren, darunter die Rollen von William Dale in Putt’s Silent Night, The Man in Cage’s The City Wears A Slouch Hat und das Cover für Fritz und Frank in Korngolds Die tote Stadt. Als talentierter und verlässlicher junger Bariton war Diston als professioneller Cover in nordamerikanischen Häusern tätig, darunter Frederic (Lakmé), Count Almaviva (Le nozze di Figaro), Papageno (Die Zauberflöte) und Escamillo (Carmen).

Während des Opernstudiums spielte David Diston unter anderem Mr. Gedge (Albert Herring), Dr. Malatesta (Don Pasquale), Dr. Dulcamara (L'Elisir d'amore), Marcello (La Bohème), Don Giovanni und Leporello (Don Giovanni), Dr. Falke (Die Fledermaus), Guglielmo und Don Alfonso (Cosi fan tutte) und Count Almaviva (Le nozze di Figaro).

Auf der Konzertbühne gab David kürzlich sein Debüt beim Toronto Symphony Orchestra als Baritonsolist in C. Nielsen‘s Symphony No. 3 und sein Debüt beim Calgary Philharmonic Orchestra als Teil ihrer Orchestra Moves Konzertreihe. David freut sich bereits auf sein Debüt bei der London Symphonia im Jahr 2020 als Jesus in Bach‘s Johannes-Passion. Weitere Konzertwerke im Repertoire von Diston sind The Messiah (Händel), Liebeslieder & Neue Liebeslieder Walzer und Ein Deutsches Requiem (Brahms), Symphony No. 9 (Beethoven), Fantasia on Christmas Carols and the Five Mystical Songs (Vaughan Williams), Les sept parole du Christ (Dubois), Requiem (Fauré), Lord Nelson Mass (Haydn), Requiem (Mozart) und mehrere Bach-Kantaten.

Das große Lob für seine künstlerischen Leistungen schlägt sich auch in zahlreichen Preisen und Auszeichnungen nieder. So war David Diston Zweiter bei der Clifford Poole Vocal Competition, Mitgewinner der Toronto Mozart Vocal Competition und stolzer Empfänger einer Ausbildungsförderung des Canada Council for the Arts. David Diston erhielt außerdem mehrere Geldpreise, darunter den Clive Mortimer Memorial Prize, eine Beverly and David Foy Young Artist Sponsorship und mehrere Bildungsstipendien der University of Toronto, Western University, sowie Stipendien für das Sommeroper Studio.

HeadShotSm.jpg

(C) Photography by Shelly

(C) Photography by Shelly

Biography | daviddiston

Biography

Canadian baritone David Diston’s rapidly developing artistry is quickly gaining him recognition as a "sonorous baritone" (Huffington Post) with "full-throated and characterful singing" (Calgary Herald). A native of Niagara Falls, Canada, Mr. Diston is a graduate of the Calgary Opera Studio, in Calgary Alberta. He holds a Master of Music in Opera Performance from the University of Toronto and an Honours Bachelor of Music in Vocal Performance from Western University. Having performed throughout North America, some of Mr. Diston’s notable roles include Ping (Turandot), Frederic (Lakmé), Pish-Tush (The Mikado), Count Almaviva (Le nozze di Figaro), and Dr. Malatesta (Don Pasquale). Mr. Diston’s recent performances of Schaunard (La Bohème) with both the Highlands Opera and the Mississauga Symphony have garnered him high praise: “David Diston was a vocally impressive Schaunard whose skilled acting - which could turn on a dime from tragic to hysterically funny - was central to the realistic garret scenes” (Opera Canada).

Mr. Diston’s reputation as an intelligent musician and skilled performer has provided him the pleasure of creating roles in new operatic works. These include Dr. Mann in the World Premier of Vehar’s SHOT! with Nickel City Opera of Buffalo New York, and Young Rattenbury with Pacific Opera Victoria in Stokes’ Rattenbury. Mr. Diston has also premiered concert works including Kositsky’s new oratorio A Mighty Cry, and several pieces developed through the University of Toronto, most recently Lover’s Dusk by Matthias McIntire. David Diston has also been proud to present multiple Canadian Premieres, including the roles of William Dale in Putt’s Silent Night, The Man in Cage’s The City Wears A Slouch Hat, and the cover for both Fritz and Frank in Korngold’s Die tote Stadt. As a talented and reliable young baritone, Mr. Diston has been engaged as a professional cover in North American houses for roles including Frederic (Lakmé), Count Almaviva (Le nozze di Figaro), Papageno (Die Zauberflöte), and Escamillo (Carmen).

​While pursuing operatic studies, David Diston’s educational performances include Mr. Gedge (Albert Herring), Dr. Malatesta (Don Pasquale), Dr. Dulcamara (L’Elisir d’amore), Marcello (La Bohème), Don Giovanni and Leporello (Don Giovanni), Dr. Falke (Die Fledermaus), Guglielmo and Don Alfonso (Cosi fan tutte), and Count Almaviva (Le nozze di Figaro), among others.

​On the concert stage, Mr. Diston recently made his Toronto Symphony Orchestra debut as the baritone soloist in C. Nielsen’s Symphony No. 3, and his debut with the Calgary Philharmonic Orchestra as part of their Orchestra Moves concert series. Mr. Diston is excited to make his debut with the London Symphonia in 2020 as Jesus in Bach’s Johannes-Passion. Further concert works in Mr. Diston’s repertoire include The Messiah (Handel), Liebeslieder & Neue Liebeslieder Walzer and Ein Deutsches Requiem (Brahms), Symphony No. 9 (Beethoven), Fantasia on Christmas Carols and the Five Mystical Songs (Vaughan Williams), Les sept parole du Christ (Dubois), Requiem (Fauré), Lord Nelson Mass (Hayden), Requiem (Mozart), and several Bach Kantaten.

Mr. Diston’s high praise in performance has resulted in frequent competition recognition and awards. Mr. Diston was runner-up in the Clifford Poole Vocal Competition, co-winner of the Toronto Mozart Vocal Competition, and a proud recipient of a Canada Council for the Arts Professional Development Grant. David Diston has also received several monetary awards including the Clive Mortimer Memorial Prize, the Beverly and David Foy Young Artist Sponsorship, and several educational bursaries from the University of Toronto, Western University, in addition to summer opera studio grants.

As of October 2019 Mr. Diston lives and works in Berlin, Germany.

(C) Photography by Shelly

(C) Photography by Shelly

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon

© 2020 David Diston ~ Baritone

Toronto, Ontario Canada